A fun trip to Miami!

I have a son who lives in Miami Beach, and thanks to a friend who lives in Greenwich, CT., I recently got to see both of them. My friend bought a vacation package from KENW through our annual on-line Auction (http://auction.kenw.org) last year, and asked me to go with her. The hotel was in Coconut Grove, just outside Miami Beach. I went down a day earlier so I could spend one night with my son.

On Friday night, a friend of his had tickets to the New World Symphony, and it was in their new facility. This turned out to be a rehearsal night, so after we toured the fabulous new facility, we were treated to an hour-long performance by some outstanding young people who are attending this program in Miami. I think what made the performance even more interesting was the fact that these 20+ year olds were dressed in jeans, shorts, tee-shirts, flip flops, etc., but if you closed your eyes, you would have thought you were attending a renowned concert! This rehearsal was in preparation for the grand opening this weekend of the facility. Look closely at the picture I took:

My friend arrived on Saturday, and we had a great afternoon of massages, then a lovely dinner and a late cocktail party. Then on Sunday, some friends of my son hosted a luncheon outside by their pool, and we enjoyed the warm sunshine, delicious food and lots of visiting and laughter.

Sunday night we went to see “Country Strong” with Gwenyth Paltrow and Tim McGraw, and it is a great movie. I’d like to try to get the soundtrack. Have you seen it?

Then it was back home to reality on Monday but with lots of fun memories. Now it’s time to get back to work taping segments for “Creative Living” and working on the 2011 Auction. I hope you’ll go to our auction website and start bidding on this year’s items — remember, all proceeds benefit the programming for our public television station.

Til next time….

Leave a Reply

