That’s my story & I’m sticking to it!

Now that it’s been a few days, I can actually laugh at my “snake” encounter on Monday! Here’s what happened:

I had the worst experience last night. I went walking at 7:30 and decided to venture over to the softball complex that has great walking paths. I had my cell phone and ear plugs and was listening to music while I walked. The weather was beautiful – a nice breeze and not too hot. As I walked along, I decided to cross over some grassy/weedy area to get to another walking path that looked inviting, and as I was walking, I almost stepped on a HUGE snake. It was at least 6 inches around and 6 feet long. He was just laying there – not coiled up so I don’t think it was a rattler snake but it was big and ugly. As I turned to run away, I slipped and fell on my left side and in trying NOT to land on my knee (the one that I had a knee implant), I hit hard on my hip and it is so bruised! About that time, the snake started moving and fortunately, he went away from me (I probably scared him to death!) and not towards me because I was having a hard time getting up since I’ve had knee surgery. I don’t think I’ve ever been so scared in all my life. I finally got my phone out as I was scurrying over to the other path (away from the snake) and called my husband. I was so out of breath he could hardly understand me. Anyway, I made it home safe and sound, but still shaken up. I’m not going anywhere on a walk that is not on pavement. I guess if I had stayed on the walking paths, and not crossed to the other area, I would have been fine. Only one small scratch on my left knee and I’m grateful for that.

Have you had a scary encounter? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

