We lost a dear friend!

Two special people have died on my birthday! My mother died many years ago and that has always made it very sad on my birthday. A colleague whom I worked with for over 30 years died this year on July 2nd. Although it wasn’t as traumatic as having to say goodbye to my mother, none the less, I will always think of this person on July 2nd.

Things happen for a reason — we just don’t always know that reason. For now, I’ll just say “Good bye, Yale!”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzi blu
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 04:26:14

    Oh I am so very sorry, for both of your losses, and on your birthday. It must mean something very special to the powers that be to burden you with these memories on your special day.

    Happy belated birthday.
    I have Gigi and Finney kisses for you. (my dogs)
    =^_^= =^_^=

    Reply

  2. Vicki Miller
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 19:35:18

    I too have lost people on my birthday. My life partner and my Aunt and I too think of them on my birthday. Although the date began as a sadness because of these losses, I now choose to celebrate their lives as well as my own on that day, remembering the good times and the significant effects they both had on my life. When I think of death, I think of it as only time ending for that person as we know it and I think of their time-line as taking another path from mine, only to meet at another crossing down the road. I believe that love doesn’t end. I hope the pain of your losses will get better in time too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

